Where is Yellowstone National Park?

Map Location of Yellowstone National Park

Yellowstone is in the Northwest Region of the United States

The official address for the Park is: Yellowstone National Park, WY 82190 USA
Yellowstone National Park Information Phone Number (307) 344-7381
Visitor Information for the Hearing Impaired (TDD) – call 307-344-2386
Yellowstone Park’s official website: http://www.nps.gov/yell

Yellowstone is in Wyoming, Montana, and Idaho

Yellowstone National Park covers 3,472 square miles. Even though the official address is to the state of Wyoming, Yellowstone is actually in three states. The majority of the Park (96%) is in Wyoming. A small section of the Park (3%) to the north and northwest is in Montana. And a small section of the Park (1%) to the west is in Idaho.

Gateway Towns to Yellowstone National Park

Towns nearest Yellowstone’s five entrances include West Yellowstone, Montana; Jackson Hole, Wyoming; Cody, Wyoming; Cooke City, Montana; and Gardiner, Montana. Each town has its own character and history. These nearby towns offer convenient lodging, camping, activities, and attractions.

Yellowstone Seasonal Access

All five entrances, facilities, and roads (barring road construction) are open during the summer vacation season. Parts of the national park are closed to wheeled vehicles during the winter (November through early May). Many facilities also have seasonal opening and closing dates. Several times a year, all national parks have free days. Otherwise, entry fees apply. Please check Yellowstone’s regulations before entering the park.

Getting Around Yellowstone National Park

Yellowstone’s main roads are the five entrance roads and the Grand Loop road. On the Loop, you’ll find many visitor centers, museums, boardwalks, and scenic side roads. All major roads are accessible by RVs and other large vehicles, but most side roads are not. Yellowstone has no shuttle bus service. To travel around Yellowstone, you’ll need a car, motorcycle, bike, or tour transportation.

Yellowstone has eight main visitor areas with visitor centers, lodging, and museums. These include: Mammoth Hot Springs, Tower-Roosevelt, Canyon Village, Fishing Bridge, West Thumb, Grant Village, Old Faithful, and Madison.