Yellowstone Winter Tours on Snowcoach, Snowmobiles, Skis and Snowshoes

Let a winter concessionaire show you around Yellowstone. Knowledgeable local guides will make the day a memorable one.
Author:
Publish date:
Snowmobiles and snowcoaches passing bison on the road in Yellowstone

Snowmobiles and snowcoaches passing bison on the road in Yellowstone

It is absolutely gorgeous in Yellowstone in the wintertime. In the winter, most roads inside Yellowstone are closed to wheeled vehicles so relax and let a winter concessionaire show you around. Knowledgeable local guides will make the day a memorable one for your family.

Snowcoach and Snowmobile Tours

West Entrance

See Yellowstone Snowcoach Tours of West Yellowstone
Since 1971, we have been leading the way with tours in and out of the park. What makes us the best?
- Widest selection of Yellowstone tours
- Specialist private tours
- Local experienced guides (CIG certified Yellowstone experts)
- Packages available (lodging, tours, meals, & transportation)
- Best lodging choices (hotel, lodge, motel, or ranch)
- Free pick up and drop off from your local lodging or RV park
More information at seeyellowstone.com

Backcountry Adventures www.backcountry-adventures.com

Buffalo Bus Touring Company www.yellowstonevacations.com

Targhee Snowmobile Tours tetonvalleyadventures.com (Snowmobile only)

Two Top Yellowstone Winter Tours www.twotopsnowmobile.com (Snowmobile only)

South Entrance

Scenic Safaris www.scenic-safaris.com

Teton Science Schools www.tetonscience.org/wildlife-expeditions/yellowstone-winter (Snowcoach only)

Old Faithful Snowmobile Tours www.snowmobilingtours.com (Snowmobile only)

North Entrance and Old Faithful Snow Lodge

Yellowstone National Park Lodges www.yellowstonenationalparklodges.com (Snowcoach only)

Ski and Snowshoe Tours

Yellowstone National Park Lodges www.yellowstonenationalparklodges.com

Teton Science Schools www.tetonscience.org/wildlife-expeditions/yellowstone-winter

Wildland Trekking www.wildlandtrekking.com/yellowstone/winter-trips.html

Yellowstone Forever Institute www.yellowstone.org/experience/yellowstone-forever-institute

Sled Dog Tours Near Yellowstone

Spirit of the North Sled Dog Adventures huskypower.com

Yellowstone Dog Sled Adventures www.yellowstonedogsledadventures.com

Wolf Watching in Wintertime

Wolf from the Canyon pack next to road near Norris taken from snowcoach through the glass window

Wolf from the Canyon pack next to road near Norris taken from snowcoach through the glass window

Longing to see Yellowstone’s most elusive major predator, the wolf? There’s no better time to get a glimpse of these beautiful animals than in winter, when their dark coats stand out against the white snow. Go on a wolf-watching tour for the best chance to spot one.

Only have one day? Opt for the 8-hour tours from Yellowstone Forever, which explore Yellowstone’s northern range in search of wildlife. Try a short hike, snowshoe or ski outing as part of the day.

Yellowstone Safari Company (www.yellowstonesafari.com) offers a two-day trip to Yellowstone’s northern range, the Winter Wolf and Wildlife Safari. Participants get a long evening to look for the wolves, and then get an early-morning start the following day.

If you want a longer trip, check out Wolf Tracker (www.wolftracker.com), which offers five-day trips, including Wolf Watches in Gardiner, Mont. as well as a Wolf Retreat in Bozeman, Mont. Outings are led by a knowledgeable husband and wife team: He’s a Yellowstone native who’s studied wolf and elk ecology and she’s a researcher and conservationist.

Related

Old Fashioned Yellowstone Tour Bus

Van Tours of Yellowstone National Park

Let someone else do the driving so you can simply see the sights. Interpretive Tours in Yellowstone are available through All Yellowstone Sports, See Yellowstone Summer Van Tour, Grand Teton Lodge Company, and yLoop Road Trips.